Varsity Lacrosse

Signup for an alert reminder.

Lacrosse Season Holds Much Promise

If experience and depth are any predictor of a team’s prospects, then the 2017 edition of Salisbury’s varsity lacrosse team has cause indeed for optimism. On both counts, they appear to be loaded.

But in the highly competitive world of Western New England lacrosse, that may not prove sufficient. When asked whom he considered as the top opponents his team would be facing, veteran coach Bobby Wynne did not miss a beat in responding, “The entire New England West I League.”

Six starters return from last year’s team that finished 12-4. They are attack-men John Lombardi ’17 and Teioshontathe McComber ’18; midfielders Troy Lauder ’17 (Syracuse commit), Alex Mapstone ’17 (Hobart commit), and Joe Neuman ’18; and goalie Dylan Sulzbach ’17 (Penn State commit). Neuman will also serve as the team’s face-off specialist. Lauder, Lombardi, and Mapstone share the team captaincy.

Other returners from 2016 are attacker Amos Gilbert ’18,; midfielders Cole Allen ’18, Zach Chandler ’17 (Bowdoin commit), Mason Evarts ’17 (Swarthmore commit), George Greer ’18, Justin Kopansky ’17 (LeMoyne commit), Cole Leveston ’17, Jake Sampson ’18, and Dawson Wynne ’19; defensemen David Demartino ’18, Paul Governale ’18, and Quinn Towne ’18; and goalie Will Tortorella ’17 (Endicott commit).

Newcomers to the varsity program include attackers Taite Cattoni ’18 and Matt Gannon ’19; midfielders Gunner Carlson ’17, Mike Dilorio ’19, Bryce Faulstich ’19, Jack Hanau ’20, Timmy Lischer ’19, and Cole Willard ’17 (Penn State commit); defensemen Dinio Cijuste ’17 (Providence commit) and Luke Dilorio; and goalie Will Mark ’19.

“The 2017 Knights look to build off of last year’s 12-4 record,” a circumspect Coach Wynne pronounced when asked for his forecast of the season ahead. “With a very competitive OOC schedule and the traditionally strong New England West league play, Salisbury is looking to further establish itself as one of the nation’s premier programs.”

History of the Program

An informal recreational lacrosse group coalesced on the Hilltop in 1970. Lacrosse made its first organized appearance in 1971 as a club sport under the leadership of coach Ted Childs. Progress proved rapid, and in 1973, the team compiled its first winning season. Since the late 1980s Salisbury lacrosse has enjoyed great success, evolving into one of New England’s elite programs. In 1994 and 1995, the team reigned as the Western New England Division II Champions under the leadership of coach David Hagerman. The team garnered even greater success in the years that followed. Under the leadership of coach Bobby Wynne, Salisbury lacrosse squads have reigned as champions of the Western New England Lacrosse League, earning the title in 2003, 2004, 2005, 2009, 2010 and 2012. Many Salisbury boys have enjoyed great success in many of the nation’s elite collegiate programs.

Where Are They Now?

Colin Giblin Maryland University
Jonathan Spaan Hobart College
Dan Cone Lynchburg College
Justin Guterding Duke University
Jake Levine University of Delaware
Connor O'Hara Bucknell University
Jake Richards University of Vermont
Matt Jones University of Denver
Graham Dabbs Furman University
Sean W. Donnelly Hobart and William Smith Colleges
Geoffrey Grant  Skidmore College
Jake Harrington  Dickinson College
Shane Hurley Hobart and William Smith Colleges 
Ryan Joyce University of Richmond
Jackson Mandli Elmhurst College 
Domenic Massimilian Cornell University
John Maymar Chapman University
William Morrison Wheaton College
Cameron Murray Dickinson College
Brooks Robinson Sewanee: The University of the South
Ryan Simmons  Syracuse University
Shane Simpson The University of North Carolina
Mark Snellman Lynn University
Paul Spinney University of Massachusetts, Amherst
Nicholas Weston Syracuse University
Kanatiio Adams Cornell University
Tyler Aunon Georgetown University
A.J. Carfora Penn State University
Jack Clippinger University of Denver
Myles Jones Duke University
Thomas Labadini Loyola University
Mike Morris Johns Hopkins University
John O’Connor University of Delaware
Tanner Scales University of Virginia
Brad Burnam Siena College
Tyler Burnam Siena College
Wes Middendorf St. Lawrence University
Charles Shugrue Roanoke College
Ryan Hamilton William College
Brian Teague Wheaton College
Ben Carter Jacksonville University
Walker Chafee University of North Carolina-Chapel Hill
Will DeLorey Ohio Wesleyan University
Chris Garibaldi Union College
Tom Iuppa Hobart College
Jesse Langer Wittenberg University
Ben Langlois Nazareth University
Eric Lombardo Hobart College
Will Joyce Cornell University
Harrison Mather United States Naval Academy-Annapolis
Erik Myers Penn State University
Sam Richter Union College
David Solomon University of Maryland
Steve Wistner United States Naval Academy-Annapolis
Chad Berger Hamilton College
Zeric Butters United States Military Academy-West Point
Jamie Faus University of Denver
Brenden Gilson University of Delaware
Ian Gordon Loyola University
Chris Hansell Dickinson College
Michael Jones United States Naval Academy-Annapolis
Alex Love Hobart College
Brian O’Toole Harvard University
Connor Pigaga University of California-Santa Barbara
Ty Thompson SUNY Albany
Brad Weiss United States Military Academy-West Point
Max Wildes Springfield College
Lance Yapor Hofstra University
Boone Baker United States Military Academy-West Point
Jay Christopher United States Naval Academy-Annapolis
Luke Dawson United States Military Academy-West Point
Cameron Flint University of Denver (Captain)
Tucker Garfield St. Lawrence University
Riley Hanson Univ. of Maryland-Baltimore County
Adam Kelsey Hamilton College
Drew Kearns United States Military Academy-West Point
Alex Love Hobart University
Cameron Mann Jacksonville University
Connor Rice Marist College
Garret Swaim Jacksonville University
Derek Sweet Lynchburg College
Will Casertano Villanova University
Peter Callahan Lynchburg College
Trevor Brown Johns Hopkins University
Brendan McCooey Hobart College
Mitchell McMichael Cornell University
Will Kraus Ithaca College
Matthew Machucki University of Pennsylvania

Taylor Mendoza


Sam Miller Salisbury University
Kevin Moriarty Loyola University
John Snellman Fairfield University
Brock Sorenson Ohio State University (Captain)
William Worthy Gettysburg College
Ryan Yarusi Fairfield University
Jamie Macdonald University of Denver (Captain)
Max Brindle Drexel University
David Shriver Georgetown University (Captain)
Bryce Woodson Ohio State University (Captain)
Thomas Dalton United States Military Academy-West Point
Kevin Doyle United States Naval Academy-Annapolis (Captain)
Rob Mariano United States Naval Academy-Annapolis
Alexander Samaniego United States Naval Academy-Annapolis
Peter McNichols UMass-Amherst
Garet Ince University of Virginia


smug mug facebook youtube twitter instagram
Salisbury School, A Private School for Boys in CT, School Crest
© 2014 Salisbury School
251 Canaan Road
Salisbury, CT 06068
Phone: 860-435-5700
Fax: 860-435-5750

We are a private, all-boy boarding high school in Connecticut committed to shaping high schooled-aged boys into men of character and promise who can rise to the challenges of the modern world.

powered by finalsite