Varsity Football

Signup for an alert reminder.

2017 Football Awards

Coaches Award: Eric Buie '18 and Amos Gilbert '18
Most Improved Player: Bryce Faulstich '19 and Evan Floren '19
Jonathan C. Boyce and Patrick Stern Offense Award: Alex Indelicato '18
Jonathan C. Boyce and Patrick Stern Defense Award: Bennett Psyhogeos '18
Edward Childs Award: Zach Banks '18
Established by the football team of 1971, this award is given to the player or players whose hard work, devotion, talent and courage best exemplify the Salisbury spirit.

2016 Football Awards

Coaches Award: Matthew Derks '17 and Max Warden '17
Most Improved Player: Max Gilbert '17 and Bennet Psyhogeos '18
Jonathan C. Boyce and Patrick Stern Offense Award: Anthony Sims' 17
Jonathan C. Boyce and Patrick Stern Defense Award: Zach Banks '18
Edward Childs Award: Hayden Sturdevant '17
Established by the football team of 1971, this award is given to the player or players whose hard work, devotion, talent and courage best exemplify the Salisbury spirit.

To access the Summer Workout Program click here.

History of the Program

Salisbury School held its first football practice in 1904, and the small, inexperienced squad played two games that year. A short hiatus followed, but in 1907 competition on the gridiron resumed. In 1910 the team completed its first undefeated season, with a record of 5-0-1. That same year the rapidly expanding school fielded its first “Thirds” squad. Two members of the 1917 varsity team were selected “All-American” members of the “Yale Eleven.” Football season was interrupted only in 1918 when World War I caused the student body to turn to military drill and “Swedish” exercise instead. Football resumed in 1919 under the leadership of coach John Myers, recently returned from active military service. His squads completed undefeated seasons in 1920 and 1921. The 1921 squad trounced its opponents by a combined score of 301-0. For more than three decades, football ruled autumn afternoons at Salisbury as the only interscholastic sport and in 1930 95-100 boys filled four separate teams. The team compiled another undefeated season in 1955, going 5-0. Football enjoyed great success in the 1950s and early 1960s under coaches Tom Dorsey and Bob Gardner, with a combined record of 26-9 over a period of eight seasons. Another undefeated campaign led by coach Ted Childs followed in 1974. During the 1980s, Salisbury School joined the Fairchester Football League. Despite growing competition from other fall sports, football enjoyed its greatest success in the late 1990s and early 2000s under the guiding hand of coaches Sean Brennan and Chris Adamson, winning New England championships in 1997, 2000 and 2007.  Under the leadership of Head Coach Chris Phelps, the Crimson Knights most recently won New England championships in 2010 and 2012.

Football After Salisbury

Salisbury School has a strong tradition of preparing their student-athletes for the academic and athletic demands of collegiate athletics.  Below are the recent student-athletes who have left the Hilltop to pursue their passion of playing at the collegiate level.

National Letter of Intent Day 2017 


  • Matt Derks - Delaware State University
  • Gunner Gibson - University of New Hampshire
  • Max Gilbert - St. Lawrence University
  • Keaton Nichols - Hobart College
  • Anthony Sims - Morningside College
  • Hayden Sturdevant - University of Southern Mississippi
  • Max Warden - St. Lawrence University
  • Antoine Williams - Assumption College



  • Paul Chambers - Union College
  • Adrian Condell - Hobart College
  • Jesse Conners - College of the Holy Cross
  • Tyler Cook - Texas Southern University
  • Jamil Gilmore - University of Delaware
  • Jake Hescock - University of Wisconsin
  • Eric Mitchell - Lafayette College
  • Nathan Monk - University of Guelph (Canada)
  • Max Roberts - Fordham University
  • Kyle Tuttle - South Dakota State University


  • Sam Amaka - Amherst College
  • Daiqwon Buckley - Temple University
  • Matt Booth-Williams - Wilfrid Laurier University (Canada)
  • Charlie Callahan - Denison University
  • Charles Coccia - Washington University in St. Louis
  • Matt Dugan -  Union College
  • David Maaghul - University of California at Berkley
  • Kyle Maertens  - McMaster University (Canada)
  • Kyler Murray - Hobart College
  • Ryan Phelps  - Hamilton College
  • Steve Robinson - University of Delaware



  • Avery Baker - Queens University
  • Elden Baker - University of New Haven
  • Nick Cominos - Texas Christian University
  • Tommy D'Antonio - Hobart College
  • John DiCaro - University of New Hampshire
  • Matt Forelli - St. Lawrence University
  • Dayne Herron - University of New Hampshire
  • Denzel Knight - Wagner College
  • Mike LeBlanc - University of Rhode Island
  • Jack Ward - United States Military Academy


  • Shawal Abdur-Rhaham - Ithaca College
  • Lucas Amato - University of Massachusetts, Amherst
  • Leon Cummings - Marist College
  • Tyler Fisher - Old Dominion University 
  • Darnell Hart - Merrimack College
  • Shane Johnson - Coastal Carolina University
  • Chase O’Connell - Dickinson College 
  • Sadiq Olanrewaju - University of Virginia
  • Dwayne Scott - Middlebury College
  • Austin Whipple -Pennsylvania State University/University of Massachusetts


  • Tucker Gumkowski - Hobart College
  • Ryan Hamilton - Williams College
  • Brandon Hollomon - University of Kansas
  • Larry “KJ” Johnson  - Susquehanna University
  • Anthony McDonnaugh - Monmouth University
  • JP Pieterse - Amherst College


  • Jay Fabien -  Wesleyan University
  • Nick Fraser - Wittenberg University
  • Joey Harmon - Villanova University
  • Spencer Karls - Ohio Wesleyan University
  • Alex Lavrentios - Cornell University
  • Jake Mauro - Monmouth University
  • Marc Mauro - Florida Atlantic University 
  • William Powers - Princeton University
  • Ben Wezel - University of Maine


  • Kai Brusch - Fordham University
  • John Patrick Riley - Sacred Heart University
  • Brian Sanford - Marist College
  • Jeff Skoog - University of Massachusetts, Amherst
  • Will Tye - Florida State University
  • Bjoern Werner - Florida State University
  • Gary Lee Wilson - Lindenwood University


  • Rae Haynes - Trinity College
  • Adam Kelsey - Hamilton College
  • Chase Richey - Union College
  • Greg Schuster - University of Pennsylvania
  • Forrest West - North Carolina State University
  • Clayton Keller - United States Military Academy- West Point
  • Jarrid Bryant - Arizona State University
  • Peace Edafe - Stony Brook University
  • Robert Lansbury - Pacific Lutheran University


  • Rich Bell - Tulane University
  • Matt Battaglia - Yale University
  • Devon Dace - University of Rhode Island
  • Shayne Begin - Colby College
  • Spenser Merwin - Colby College
  • John Strong - Southern Connecticut State University
  • Nick Molinari - Endicott College
  • Jack Small - Lake Forest College



smug mug facebook youtube twitter instagram 
Salisbury School, A Private School for Boys in CT, School Crest
© 2014 Salisbury School
251 Canaan Road
Salisbury, CT 06068
Phone: 860-435-5700
Fax: 860-435-5750

We are a private, all-boy boarding high school in Connecticut committed to shaping high schooled-aged boys into men of character and promise who can rise to the challenges of the modern world.

powered by finalsite